New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Grub and Stakers Spin A Yarn

The Grub and Stakers Spin A Yarn

(A book in the Grub and Stakers series)
A novel by

Publisher's Weekly
The latest from Charlotte McLeod, writing as Craig ( The Grub-and-Stakers Move a Mountain ), is a kitsch whodunit that overflows with witticisms, puns and mistaken identities; steady tongue-in-cheek narration keeps it from becoming cloying. Casting the members of the Lobelia Falls Grub-and-Stakers Gardening and Roving Club, the drama begins in Miss Jane Fuzzywuzzy's Yarnery, where an executive at the local mincemeat factory is murdered. Popular novelist Osbert Monk joins in the police investigation. The ensuing shenanigans are hilarious and cleverly conceived--at one point the criminals mistakenly abduct Osbert's aunt Arethusa instead of the murder victim's daughter, Matilda McCorquindale; to outsmart them, Osbert decides that Matilda should attend her father's funeral and pretend to be Arethusa pretending to be Matilda. McLeod threads the suspense surely, and although the quirky character names grow cumbersome, she keeps her story energetic and merry.

Genre: Mystery    

Similar books by other authors

Wrack and Rune
(Professor Peter Shandy)
Charlotte MacLeod
The Silver Ghost
(Sarah Kelling and Max Bittersohn)
Charlotte MacLeod
Exit the Milkman
(Professor Peter Shandy)
Charlotte MacLeod

Used availability for Alisa Craig's The Grub and Stakers Spin A Yarn

Paperback Editions

January 1990 : USA Paperback

Title: The Grub-And-Stakers Spin a Yarn
Author(s): Charlotte MacLeod
ISBN: 0-380-75540-8 / 978-0-380-75540-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Avon Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA