book cover of Broken Window
Added by 12 members

Broken Window

(The first book in the House of Jack the Ripper series)
A novel by

No-one ever knew his name, or why he killed, or why he stopped. Until now...

Lost and alone one night on the streets of London, Maddie Harper knows she shouldn't go near the abandoned house on Cathmore Road. She's heard stories about the place, about how everyone keeps away. But tonight Maddie's scared and hurt, and she's being hunted through the city's dark, rain-lashed streets. So when she sees a broken window at the back of the house, she decides she has to take the risk.

But this is no ordinary house. This house once belonged to England's most notorious killer. To a man whose true identity has remained a secret... until now.

Soon, Maddie starts to realize that something in this house is very wrong. For one thing, the basement is set out more like an old operating theater. For another, there are tattered notebooks detailing a series of gruesome medical procedures. And then there's the bell in one of the old bedrooms, which seems to ring from time to time, even though it's covered in a thick layer of dust.

Maddie is about to learn not only that the house's previous owner hid a dark secret, but also that - as she explores these old and abandoned rooms - she might not be quite so alone after all. And the truth of an English legend is about to be revealed.

Broken Window is the first book in a new horror series, titled The House of Jack the Ripper. This book ends on a cliffhanger, and the story continues in the next book in the series, titled In Darkness Dwell. All eight books are now available.

Genre: Horror

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Amy Cross's Broken Window

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors