New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>
book cover of 

The One That Got Away

The One That Got Away

(2015)
A novel by

 
Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one's own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She's well on her way to having the family she's hoped for since her mother's death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer - and former flame - Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina's life takes an unexpected turn. Eamon proves to be Sarina's dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices - and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life - and in love.

Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman's discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

Advance praise for The One That Got Away

"A warm, witty, and wise novel, The One That Got Away announces the arrival of a great new voice in fiction." - Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One and Only

"Love can be complicated, and in The One That Got Away, Bethany Chase captures every nuanced beat of a conflicted heart. An authentic and warm voice infuses this story of humor, heartbreak, and home. While Sarina finds her way, we as readers might also find a way back to our own unique lives." - Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of And Then I Found You

"This perfectly paced story is full of fresh, engaging characters, but Chase's greatest accomplishment is Sarina Mahler. Sarina is so human, her inner world such a compelling mix of guarded and open-hearted, confident and faltering, that - through every loss, every funny moment, every blazing triumph - I felt completely with her and grateful to be there." - Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Falling Together

"[A] sparkling debut [that] packs serious emotional punches . . . This utterly enjoyable romance will have readers swooning, sobbing, and eagerly anticipating Chase's next book." - Kirkus Reviews

"Bethany Chase is utterly charming and writes about loss with wisdom and heart." - Allie Larkin, author of Why Can't I Be You

"Don't let this one get away: Chase's debut is fun, romantic, steamy, and populated with heartfelt characters - not-to-miss delicious escapism!" - L. Alison Heller, author of The Never Never Sisters

"We fell in love with The One That Got Away from the very first page. In her charming debut novel, Bethany Chase reminds us about the one that got away, and makes us wonder what would have happened if he hadn't." - Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, co-authors of Your Perfect Life

"The One That Got Away is juicy, steamy, witty, and real." - Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of After I Do

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

 
Used availability for Bethany Chase's The One That Got Away


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

March 2015 : USA Library Binding
Title: The One That Got Away (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Bethany Chase
ISBN: 0-606-37258-X / 978-0-606-37258-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

March 2015 : USA Paperback
Title: The One That Got Away: A Novel
Author(s): Bethany Chase
ISBN: 0-8041-7942-5 / 978-0-8041-7942-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

October 2016 : Audio CD
Title: The One That Got Away
Author(s): Bethany Chase
ISBN: 1-5159-1229-9 / 978-1-5159-1229-3
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2016 : Audio CD
Title: The One That Got Away
Author(s): Bethany Chase
ISBN: 1-5159-6229-6 / 978-1-5159-6229-8
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

October 2016 : USA Audio edition
Title: The One That Got Away
Author(s): Bethany Chase
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

March 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: The One That Got Away: A Novel
Author(s): Bethany Chase
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for