book cover of Mystery at the Church
Added by 12 of our members

Mystery at the Church

(2021)
(The sixth book in the Eve Mallow Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
When a TV drama crew descends on sleepy Saxford St Peter, Eve Mallow joins the excited throng of extras in a funeral scene. But then a real body is found… and Eve gets a starring role as sleuth!

Eve Mallow is looking forward to her fifteen minutes of fame when Saxford St Peter is chosen as the location for a new drama series. A devoted people-watcher, Eve is thrilled to learn that TV stars are just as glamorous – and tempestuous – as she’s always imagined.

But then someone delivers a bouquet of poisonous flowers to the director Rufus Beaumont, making Eve worry that some of the rivalries she’s noticed are deadly serious. And when Rufus’s body is found in the church where the funeral scene took place, it’s clear that someone’s out for the kill in real life.

Eve and dachshund Gus have been on the ground from the start, and now they’re on the case, interrogating the suspects one by one. Is it the devastating diva whose relationship with Rufus was far from professional? The cameraman who caught Rufus doing something he shouldn’t? Or the groupie groundskeeper who’s in the background of every shot? One thing’s for sure – Eve must catch the killer before she stars in their next murderous production…

A completely unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

See what everyone is saying about the Eve Mallow series:

Stunning Loved the story and the pacing and just everything about it… A great story that I couldn't put down.’ Crossroad Reviews

I loved this book

Everything an old-fashioned sleuthing ought to be… I flew through the pagesShalini’s Books & Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Utterly delightful!The perfect cosy murder mystery… Keeps you on your toes!… I highly recommend this to the armchair detectives of the world!The Two Quills

‘Stepping into the pages of a new Eve Mallow mystery is like stepping into your favourite well-worn comfy slippers… Deliciously moreish… If you haven’t already discovered this series then what are you waiting for???’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A fantastic read… Had me guessing till the last page.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Plenty of plot twists, red herrings, and misdirection. Kept me in suspense. I loved it!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Drags the reader right into the plot from day one. She writes so vividly… I can almost imagine I’m on the dunes walking Gus, an inspiration of a dog that steals the show… A Marplesque amateur sleuth.’ Jenny O’Brien, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Delightful and charming… I absolutely adore this series’ Once Upon a Time Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Clare Chase has taken cozy mysteries to the next level!… I wish I could visit Saxford St Peter and I can’t wait for the next in this excellent series.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Well done! Interesting plot twists and diabolical red herrings. Yup, riveting! Loved it!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Clare Chase's Mystery at the Church

Paperback Editions

July 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Mystery at the Church: A totally unputdownable cozy mystery novel (An Eve Mallow Mystery)
Author(s): Clare Chase
ISBN: 1-80019-530-3 / 978-1-80019-530-1
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mystery at the Church: A Totally Unputdownable Cozy Mystery Novel (An Eve Mallow Mystery, Book 6)
Author(s): Clare Chase
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

August 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Mystery at the Church: A totally unputdownable cozy mystery novel (An Eve Mallow Mystery Book 6)
Author(s): Clare Chase
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU