New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Promise of Home

The Promise of Home

(2015)
(The third book in the Mill River series)
A novel by

 
 
Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times best-selling author Darcie Chan returns listeners to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship - and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches.

These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hub of activity. Karen Cooper and her son bid a temporary farewell to husband and father Nick, off to Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to the beloved nonagenarian priest Father O'Brien for counsel.

Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding - until a part of Kyle's past arrives in town and shakes up their solid romance.

Emily DiSanti, still haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore it to its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload.

All of these lives - and the lives of others in this sleepy small town - move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. But when a cache of hidden letters is discovered, a decades-old secret comes to light - one that is rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime resident who has touched the lives of everyone in town, and that will change his own life in a powerful and unexpected way.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
Sullivan's Island
(Lowcountry Tales, book 1)
Dorothea Benton Frank

Used availability for Darcie Chan's The Promise of Home

Hardback Editions

August 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Promise Of Home (Mill River)
Author(s): Darcie Chan
ISBN: 1-4104-8120-4 / 978-1-4104-8120-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel
Author(s): Darcie Chan
ISBN: 0-345-53824-2 / 978-0-345-53824-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel, Book 3
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel, Book 3
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA