New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Promise of Home

(2015)
(The third book in the Mill River series)
A novel by

 
Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times best-selling author Darcie Chan returns listeners to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship - and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches.

These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hub of activity. Karen Cooper and her son bid a temporary farewell to husband and father Nick, off to Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to the beloved nonagenarian priest Father O'Brien for counsel.

Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding - until a part of Kyle's past arrives in town and shakes up their solid romance.

Emily DiSanti, still haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore it to its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload.

All of these lives - and the lives of others in this sleepy small town - move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. But when a cache of hidden letters is discovered, a decades-old secret comes to light - one that is rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime resident who has touched the lives of everyone in town, and that will change his own life in a powerful and unexpected way.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Secret Wife
Gill Paul

The Christmas Promise
Sue Moorcroft

Whisper Beach
Shelley Noble

The Bookshop on the Corner
Jenny Colgan
 
Used availability for Darcie Chan's The Promise of Home


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

August 2015 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Promise Of Home (Mill River)
Author(s): Darcie Chan
ISBN: 1-4104-8120-4 / 978-1-4104-8120-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

August 2015 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel
Author(s): Darcie Chan
ISBN: 0-345-53824-2 / 978-0-345-53824-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel, Book 3
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   

August 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel, Book 3
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

August 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Promise of Home: A Mill River Novel
Author(s): Darcie Chan
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for