book cover of I\'ve Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter

I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter

(2018)
A non fiction book by

 
 
"Stunning. A precise puncturing of the post-racial bubble." --Nafkote Tamirat

For readers of Between the World and Me and We Should All Be Feminists, an intimate and profound meditation on the politics of race today, from prizewinning novelist David Chariandy.


I can glimpse, through the lens of my own experience, how a parent or grandparent, encouraged to remain silent and feel ashamed of themselves, may nevertheless find the strength to voice directly to a child a truer story of ancestry.

When a moment of quietly ignored bigotry prompted his three-year-old daughter to ask, "What happened?" David Chariandy began wondering how to discuss with his children the politics of race. A decade later, in a newly heated era of both struggle and divisions, he writes a letter to his now thirteen-year-old daughter.

The son of Black and South Asian migrants from Trinidad, David draws upon his personal and ancestral past, including the legacies of slavery, indenture, and immigration, as well as the experience of growing up as a visible minority in the land of his birth. In sharing with his daughter his own story, he hopes to help cultivate within her a sense of identity and responsibility that balances the painful truths of the past and present with hopeful possibilities for a better future.



Similar books by other authors


Used availability for David Chariandy's I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
ISBN: 1-5266-0287-3 / 978-1-5266-0287-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
ISBN: 1-63557-287-8 / 978-1-63557-287-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : Canada Hardback
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
ISBN: 0-7710-1807-X / 978-0-7710-1807-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
ISBN: 1-5266-0290-3 / 978-1-5266-0290-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
ISBN: 1-79974-591-0 / 978-1-79974-591-4
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter To My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


May 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: I've Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to My Daughter
Author(s): David Chariandy
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon CA