New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Black Stone

The Black Stone

(The sixth book in the Cyrus Skeen series)
A novel by

After having some breathing room from his last case, which brought him up against Communist spies and fifth columnists, Cyrus Skeen is faced with a new problem and a new peril: Islam. A young girl is brutally and savagely murdered. When the police are unable to solve the crime, the father privately asks Skeen to investigate and possibly find the killer. The crime is of a nature and hideousness unknown to Skeen or any of his colleagues, or even to the city. He fails. But then a new murder is reported, of a maverick newspaper reporter on the run from vengeful religious police, and Skeen is able to link the two murders. Is the relic the murdered man stole genuine, or a fake?

Set in San Francisco in February 1930, Skeen moves around in a familiar milieu dampened by the Depression and the growth of Hooverville shanty towns of foreclosed and impoverished men in the shadow of the city's wealthier neighborhoods. "Reality," Skeen tells his wife, "has called in its markers" of inflation and fatal government management of the economy. Dilys, his wife, is beginning a new painting, and Skeen's first political article has been accepted in a prominent cultural magazine. At the end of The Chameleon, Skeen had told his wife that "Something wicked this way comes." In The Black Stone, he runs head on into a wickedness he could never have before imagined.


Used availability for Edward Cline's The Black Stone

Paperback Editions

January 2014 : USA Paperback

Title: The Black Stone: A Detective Novel of 1930: Volume 6 (A Cyrus Skeen Mystery)
Author(s): Edward Cline
ISBN: 1-4949-7462-2 / 978-1-4949-7462-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Black Stone: A Detective Novel of 1930 (The Cyrus Skeen Mystery Series Book 6)
Author(s): Edward Cline
Publisher: The Patrick Henry Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA