book cover of Shadows and Strongholds
Added by 4 of our members

Shadows and Strongholds

(2004)
(The first book in the FitzWarin series)
A novel by

 
 
Superb writing, phenomenal storytelling, breathtaking detail, sparkling characterization, a moving tale of love and tragedy with plenty of wit and humor thrown in." - Bookfoolery

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be hooked on this well-crafted medieval tale of pride, loyalty, and conflict as one man fights the shadows of his past and his future.

The one thing Brunin Fitzwarin knows best is nothing worthwhile is easy - especially not becoming a knight. But nothing will be more challenging than the past he's struggling to leave behind.

Sent away by his father, Brunin is now a knight-in-training to the Lord of Ludlow - and still utterly alone. That is, until the youngest daughter of the house, Hawise, befriends him.

With England in turmoil, Brunin must fight with his lord to support King Stephen for the English crown. As the war rages on and hits particularly close to home, Brunin must defeat the shadows of his childhood and take on the mantle of knight, confronting the future head on.

More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick:
Lady of the English
The Greatest Knight
The Summer Queen

What reviewers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds

"Romance, history, and action all rolled into one delicious ball." - NetGalley Review

"An exquisitely written, compelling tale - a keeper to be enjoyed more than one time." - Long and Short Reviews

What people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." - USA Today

"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages." - Books Monthly, UK

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." - Historical Novels Review

"[Chadwick] makes the time period come alive for the reader, utilizing small historical details in order to really set each scene." - S. Krishna's Books

"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era." - The Burton Review

"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick." - RT Book Reviews

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." -Daily Telegraph

Genre: Historical

Used availability for Elizabeth Chadwick's Shadows and Strongholds

Hardback Editions

November 2005 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds: A Novel
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 0-312-34924-6 / 978-0-312-34924-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2004 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 0-316-86033-6 / 978-0-316-86033-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Time Warner Books Uk
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds (Fulke FitzWarin)
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 0-7515-5182-1 / 978-0-7515-5182-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2013 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 1-4022-7459-9 / 978-1-4022-7459-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2005 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds (Fulke FitzWarin)
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 0-7515-3273-8 / 978-0-7515-3273-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Soundings
Availability: Amazon   


September 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Soundings
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Soundings
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Soundings
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2015 : UK MP3 CD

Title: Shadows And Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 1-4079-5438-5 / 978-1-4079-5438-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Audio Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2004 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Shadows and Strong Holds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chhowick
ISBN: 1-84283-981-0 / 978-1-84283-981-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2004 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strong Holds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
ISBN: 1-84559-002-3 / 978-1-84559-002-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Soundings Audio Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2013 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   


December 2010 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2010 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadows and Strongholds (Fulke FitzWarin)
Author(s): Elizabeth Chadwick
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU