New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Reverend Rosie Maclaren Trilogy

Reverend Rosie Maclaren Trilogy

(A book in the Rosalind Maclaren series)
An omnibus of novels by

Three stories about the Reverend Rosalind Maclaren. Among the first women to be ordained into the Church of England, she faces the challenges of parish life in County Durham, in a former mining town and then in a Pennine village.

First Parish: Newly ordained in 1994, Rosalind Maclaren takes up the post of team vicar of St Cuthbert's Coldwell. Full of hope, eager to serve the people of her new parish, she soon finds that life is even more challenging than she has anticipated. Not all her parishioners are ready to welcome a woman priest, and others are opposed to any hint of change. Her husband Alastair is finding it hard to adjust to being a vicar's husband, while her children too find her new status difficult to cope with. Her family seems to be falling apart under the strain. Then an old flame turns up out of the blue, threatening her marriage further; and a sudden tragedy causes her to question the very faith on which her life and work are founded. Has she mistaken her calling? Is it possible to be a wife and mother as well as a priest? And what if she no longer believes in God at all?

Lifelines: In the spring of 2001, the Reverend Rosalind Maclaren, newly appointed to the country parish of Meadhope with Ashburn, looks forward to fresh challenges in complete contrast with those she faced in her previous urban parish. Delighting in the beauty of the countryside and the warmth of the people, she is sure she will be happy there - until the dark shadow of disease threatens her parishioners' whole way of life. As Foot and Mouth disease spreads inexorably through the local farms, she has to find entirely new resources to help and support the people around her. And meanwhile the contagion threatens even those nearest to her.

A Scent of Roses: Devastated by the accidental death of her only son, Juliet Marston leaves behind her London home with its painful memories and moves with husband Leo to an ancient farmhouse in County Durham. At first it seems that in working together on its restoration they will mend the growing rift in their marriage and build some kind of new life for themselves. Juliet even rediscovers an old friend in Rosalind Maclaren, rector of nearby Meadhope. But it seems they cannot leave the past behind so easily. And Juliet soon discovers that an ancient tragedy has left its mark upon their new home, with increasingly terrifying consequences. Overwhelmed by her own grief and the growing terrors from the past, she can only turn to Rosalind, in the hope that she can call on the resources of the Church to bring healing and hope.


Used availability for Helen Cannam's Reverend Rosie Maclaren Trilogy

Kindle Editions

November 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Reverend Rosie Maclaren Trilogy
Author(s): Helen Cannam
Publisher: Helen Cannam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA