New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Cost of Life

Cost of Life

(2015)
(The first book in the Xanadu Marx series)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Brad Thor comes a gripping new thriller from Joshua Corin, in which an audacious hijacking is just the beginning of a twisted international nightmare.

Flight 816 has been hijacked and the terrorists have decided to auction off the passengers online. The passengers who receive the highest bids will be released. The passengers who receive the lowest bids will be executed.

Life can't be better for veteran pilot Larry Walder. He has a great job, a terrific kid, a gorgeous wife - and no inkling that tonight will be the end of the world as he knows it. In the early hours before the Fourth of July, three men break into Larry's home. And as the day lurches on to its terrifying course, a life is taken, and Flight 816 from Atlanta to Cozumel, Mexico, vanishes off the radar.

In the air, Larry must find a way to save his family, his crew, and his passengers. On the ground, disgraced FBI agent Xanadu Marx goes rogue, making it her mission to track down the missing flight before the hijackers reach their diabolical endgame. With the casualties racking up and the world's busiest airport under lockdown, a message arrives: This is no ordinary hijacking, no typical hostage crisis. This ransom is a totally different beast - the first hint of a conspiracy that might bring America to its knees.

Advance praise for Cost of Life

"Joshua Corin is a master storyteller. Cost of Life is a thriller par excellence: brilliantly imaginative, well written, and delightfully diabolical. Highly recommended!" - Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling co-creator of the Pendergast novels

"In Cost of Life, Joshua Corin turns a humdrum airline flight into a ride on an F-15 with a smoking engine - fast, terrifying, and oh so fun. I loved the writing. Corin's whip-smart dialogue crashed me straight into a world of fascinating characters and complicated allegiances. I couldn't stop reading until the wheels touched down on that final tarmac." - Rebecca Cantrell, New York Times bestselling author of The World Beneath

"Fraught with danger and surprises, Cost of Life is a tale chock-full of action, adventure, and intrigue. Treachery comes from all directions, so consider yourself warned." - Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lincoln Myth

"In Cost of Life, Joshua Corin brings us Xanadu Marx, a tough but vulnerable ex - FBI agent who literally pulls no punches. Corin's sure-footed handling of plot, character, and voice is the kind of writing that inspires authors like me to up their game." - Robert Gregory Browne, author of Whisper in the Dark

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
The Last Mile
(Amos Decker, book 2)
David Baldacci
thumb
Liberation Day
(Nick Stone, book 5)
Andy McNab

Used availability for Joshua Corin's Cost of Life

Audio Editions

February 2016 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Cost of Life: A Thriller
Author(s): Joshua Corin
ISBN: 1-5113-7293-1 / 978-1-5113-7293-0
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cost of Life: A Thriller
Author(s): Joshua Corin
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cost of Life: A Thriller
Author(s): Joshua Corin
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Cost of Life: A Xanadu Marx Thriller
Author(s): Joshua Corin
Publisher: Alibi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA