New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go

(2014)
A novel by

 
 
Judy Chicurel's exquisitely written debut evokes the atmosphere of a 1970s summer in a close-knit working-class community on Long Island. For fans of Jennifer Egan and Anne Tyler.

Katie and her young friends face a changing world, with prospects very different from those presented to their parents. The Vietnam War seems pointless to many but has devastated lives that remain broken even after the fighting is over.

As, with bittersweet humour, the characters' experiences unfold, daily events mirror bigger issues: an illegal abortion is plotted; the town is sinking into an economic abyss forcing Katie's friends to leave in search of more promising horizons; drugs claim the lives of those often too high to recognise the danger until it is too late; and Katie dreams of a boy back from Nam who's still fighting a battle she doesn't understand.

If I Knew You Were Going to be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go touchingly conveys the magic of everyday living during a darkened time.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Judy Chicurel's If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go

Hardback Editions

October 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 0-399-16707-2 / 978-0-399-16707-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 1-4722-2165-6 / 978-1-4722-2165-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 0-425-27796-8 / 978-0-425-27796-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 1-4722-2168-0 / 978-1-4722-2168-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 1-4722-2166-4 / 978-1-4722-2166-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 1-4830-2496-2 / 978-1-4830-2496-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go: Library Edition
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 1-4830-2494-6 / 978-1-4830-2494-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio Inc
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
ISBN: 1-4830-2495-4 / 978-1-4830-2495-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon   


October 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


October 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
Author(s): Judy Chicurel
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK