book cover of The Asylum
Added by 3 of our members

The Asylum

(2021)
A novel by

 
 


Perfect for fans of The Doll Factory and The Glass House, this is the intoxicating story of one woman's fight for freedom against a system built to silence her.



WELCOME TO ANGELTON LUNATIC ASYLUM. ONCE YOU'RE IN, IT'S MURDER GETTING OUT.

It is 1906 and Maud Lovell has been at Angelton for five years. She is not sure how she came to be there and knows nothing beyond its four walls. Hysterical, distressed and untrustworthy, she is badly unstable and prone to violence. Or so she has been told.

When a new doctor arrives, keen to experiment with the evolutionary practice of medical hypnosis, Maud's unknown history makes her the perfect case study. But as Doctor Dimmond delves deeper into the past, it becomes clear that confinement and high doses are there to keep her silent.

When Maud finally remembers what has been done to her, and by whom, her mind turns to her past – and to revenge . . .
___________

PRAISE FOR THE ASYLUM:

'Haunting and mesmerising' – Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey

'Vivid, disturbing and visceral, The Asylum is this year's must-read!' – Ruby Speechley, author of A Mother Like You

'This twisty rollercoaster story made me desperate for Maud's salvation and yearn for her revenge. Utterly compelling' – Kerry Fisher, author of The Woman I Was Before

'Evocative, menacing and darkly sinister. A brilliantly executed gothic thriller that will leave you breathless' – Jane Isaac, international bestselling crime fiction author

'A historic novel that seethes with claustrophobia, trauma and thoughts of revenge. What a sophisticated and gripping tale' – Fiona Mitchell, author of The Swap

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"This twisty rollercoaster story made me desperate for Maud's salvation and yearn for her revenge. Utterly compelling." - Kerry Fisher

"Haunting and mesmerising." - Essie Fox

"Evocative, menacing and darkly sinister. A brilliantly executed gothic thriller that will leave you breathless." - Jane Isaac

"A historic novel that seethes with claustrophobia, trauma and thoughts of revenge. What a sophisticated and gripping tale." - Fiona Mitchell

"Vivid, disturbing and visceral, The Asylum is this year's must-read!" - Ruby Speechley


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Karen Coles's The Asylum

Paperback Editions

April 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Asylum
Author(s): Karen Coles
ISBN: 1-78739-515-4 / 978-1-78739-515-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Welbeck
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Asylum: 2021's most haunting and evocative gothic thriller
Author(s): Karen Coles
Publisher: Welbeck
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU