New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Stolen Child

The Stolen Child

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships - perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter.

May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to - until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage.

Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities - or perhaps because of them - Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever.

Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms.

Genre: Literary Fiction    

Praise for this book

"Some books set up house inside your soul. The Stolen Child is one such book. Utterly magnificent." - M R Carey

"A piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love. It is a gorgeously written, inventive, and compelling novel." - Ayelet Waldman

"Dark, dazzling, quintessentially Irish . . . The Stolen Child is completely and utterly ravishing." - Monica Wood


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Lisa Carey's The Stolen Child

Hardback Editions

January 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4746-0379-3 / 978-1-4746-0379-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4746-0381-5 / 978-1-4746-0381-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 0-06-249218-7 / 978-0-06-249218-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4746-0380-7 / 978-1-4746-0380-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4708-2708-5 / 978-1-4708-2708-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: Library Edition
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4708-2837-5 / 978-1-4708-2837-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4708-2838-3 / 978-1-4708-2838-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


January 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon UK