New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Stolen Child

(2017)
A novel by

 

"Some books set up house inside your soul. The Stolen Child is one such book. Utterly magnificent."
M R Carey


"A piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love. It is a gorgeously written, inventive, and compelling novel."
Ayelet Waldman


"Dark, dazzling, quintessentially Irish . . . The Stolen Child is completely and utterly ravishing."
Monica Wood


From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships - perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter.

May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to - until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage.

Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities - or perhaps because of them - Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever.

Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms.

Genre: Literary Fiction
 
Used availability for Lisa Carey's The Stolen Child


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

January 2017 : UK Hardback
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4746-0379-3 / 978-1-4746-0379-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

November 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4746-0381-5 / 978-1-4746-0381-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon UK   

February 2017 : USA Paperback
Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 0-06-249218-7 / 978-0-06-249218-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4746-0380-7 / 978-1-4746-0380-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon UK   

Audio Editions

February 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4708-2708-5 / 978-1-4708-2708-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

February 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4708-2838-3 / 978-1-4708-2838-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

February 2017 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Stolen Child: Library Edition
Author(s): Lisa Carey
ISBN: 1-4708-2837-5 / 978-1-4708-2837-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

February 2017 : USA Audio edition
Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   

January 2017 : USA Audio edition
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   

January 2017 : UK Audio edition
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

February 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: The Stolen Child: A Novel
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

January 2017 : UK Kindle edition
Title: The Stolen Child
Author(s): Lisa Carey
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for