book cover of Wolf-Bait
Added by 1 of our members


(The eighth book in the McAllister series)
A novel by

Caleb Hughes aimed to hang McAllister. He had an old grudge to settle. Besides, men would then talk about him from Canada to the Mexican border.
McAllister was on the trail of a bunch of desperate horse-thieves. They had stolen his famous California horses. What's more, they had killed his neighbor back in Black Horse.
Lured over the territorial line into wild, outlaw country, McAllister finds himself surrounded by renegades who want his end for something that happened a thousand miles away in another place in another time.
But McAllister plans to reverse the situation - by turning himself into wolfbait!

Peter Christopher Watts
(19 December 1919 - 30 November 1983)
Is the author of more than 150 novels, is better known by his pen names of "Matt Chisholm" and "Cy James". He published his first western novel under the Matt Chisholm name in 1958 (Halfbreed). He began writing the "McAllister" series in 1963 with The Hard Men, and that series ran to 35 novels. He followed that up with the "Storm" series. And used the Cy James name for his "Spur" series.

Genre: Western

Used availability for Matt Chisholm's Wolf-Bait

Paperback Editions

August 1986 : UK Paperback

Title: McAllister - Wolfbait (Linford Western Library)
Author(s): Matt Chisholm
ISBN: 0-7089-6222-X / 978-0-7089-6222-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 1983 : UK Paperback

Title: McAllister Wolf Bait
Author(s): Matt Chisholm
ISBN: 0-600-20518-5 / 978-0-600-20518-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hamlyn
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: McAllister 8: McAllister - Wolfbait (A McAllister Western)
Author(s): Matt Chisholm
Publisher: Piccadilly Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU