New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Lives of the Mind Slaves

Lives of the Mind Slaves

A collection of stories by

Matt Cohen's stories have been widely anthologized and have appeared in distinguished periodicals and journals in Canada, Britain and the United States. Lives of the Mind Slaves features 7 short stories -- one of which (`Trotsky's First Confessions') was written especially for this book -- and a brilliant novella.

Cohen's novella, `Golden Whore of the Heartland`, explores the conflict between the spontaneity of passion -- a chance affair -- and the comfort of commitment and belonging. `The Sins of Tomas Benares' explores the theme of love over generations. 'Cafe Le Dog' is a celebration of all that remains inexplicable in the attractions between men and women. `Racial Memories' is vintage Cohen -- a story about a not-so-classic Jewish family.

Lives of the Mind Slaves contains the best of Cohen's two previous short story collections, Cafe Le Dog and Living on Water.


Used availability for Matt Cohen's Lives of the Mind Slaves

Paperback Editions

August 1994 : Canada Paperback

Title: Lives of the Mind Slaves
Author(s): Matt Cohen
ISBN: 0-88984-139-X / 978-0-88984-139-0 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Porcupine's Quill
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA