book cover of Dead in the Water
Added by 1 of our members

Dead in the Water

(2016)
(The first book in the Cherringham Novel series)
A novel by

 
 
On the night of the school prom, a young teacher is found dead in the Thames in a drug-related accident. It seems - at first - to be another sign that Cherringham High is spiralling out of control. The new head however is convinced that the teacher's death is suspicious and quietly calls in Sarah Edwards. With her one-time detective partner, Jack Brennan, back in America, Sarah is at first reluctant to take on the case. But when she does get involved, it soon becomes clear that the tragic accident might really be a case of murder - and even Sarah herself could be in danger ...

"Dead in the Water" is the first full-length novel set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, featuring the unlikely sleuthing duo Sarah, an English web designer, and Jack, American ex-cop. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of 'DCI John Barnaby' in 'Midsomer Murders' and 'Jim Riley' in 'The Life of Riley'. He is also known for his film roles in 'The Nativity', 'Sorted' and 'Son of Rambow'. In 2012 Dudgeon starred as 'Norman Birkett' on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Matthew Costello's Dead in the Water

Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead in the Water: A Cherringham Mystery 1
Author(s): Matthew Costello, Neil Richards
Publisher: Lubbe Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead in the Water: A Cherringham Mystery 1
Author(s): Matthew Costello, Neil Richards
Publisher: Lubbe Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead in the Water: A Cherringham Mystery 1
Author(s): Matthew Costello, Neil Richards
Publisher: Lubbe Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dead in the Water: A Cherringham Mystery 1
Author(s): Matthew Costello, Neil Richards
Publisher: Lubbe Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dead in the Water: A Cherringham Mystery (The Cherringham Novels Book 1)
Author(s): Matthew Costello, Neil Richards
Publisher: Bastei Entertainment
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU