book cover of Twelve English Detective Stories

Twelve English Detective Stories

An anthology of stories edited by

These twelve stories provide an entertaining exploration of this extensive and fascinating corner of English popular fiction, celebrating the detective's intellectual and intuitive powers when confronted with murder, theft, and other mysteries. The main focus of this collection is from the
1890s to the 1920s, the period when the classic English detective story was at its confident and original best, but it also offers examples from earlier and later periods. Presenting a balance of classic and more unusual stories, and featuring works by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, G. K. Chesterton,
Dorothy L. Sayers, and Michael Innes, this anthology will appeal to both the newcomer and aficionado of the genre.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Michael Cox's Twelve English Detective Stories

Paperback Editions

January 1999 : UK Paperback

Title: Twelve English Detective Stories (Oxford Twelves S.)
Author(s): Michael Cox
ISBN: 0-19-288096-9 / 978-0-19-288096-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oxford Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA