New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Dragons of Expectation

The Dragons of Expectation

(2004)
A non fiction book by

 
A landmark defense of civilization that illuminates the political degradations and intellectual fetishisms of our world.

From the author of The Harvest of Sorrow and one of the world's most respected humanists comes this long-awaited work of history and philosophy. The Dragons of Expectation--in the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's The Crooked Timber of Humanity and George Orwell's Essays--brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to corrupt modern minds, to often-disastrous effects. From the onset of the Enlightenment to the excesses of democracy, Stalinism, and liberalism, Robert Conquest masterfully examines how false nostrums have infected academia, politicians, and the public, showing how their reliance on "isms" and the destructive concepts of "People, Nation, and Masses" have resulted in a ruinous cycle of turbulence and war. Including analyses of Russia's October Revolution, World War II, and the Cold War that challenge common historical views, The Dragons of Expectation is one of the most important contributions to modern thought in recent years.

 
Used availability for Robert Conquest's The Dragons of Expectation


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

October 2005 : UK Hardback
Title: The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in the Course of History
Author(s): Robert Conquest
ISBN: 0-7156-3426-7 / 978-0-7156-3426-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2004 : USA Hardback
Title: The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in the Course of History
Author(s): Robert Conquest
ISBN: 0-393-05933-2 / 978-0-393-05933-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

January 2006 : UK Paperback
Title: The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in the Course of History
Author(s): Robert Conquest
ISBN: 0-7156-3597-2 / 978-0-7156-3597-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2006 : USA Paperback
Title: The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in the Course of History
Author(s): Robert Conquest Ph D
ISBN: 0-393-32759-0 / 978-0-393-32759-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for