New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

The Murder at the Stork Club

The Murder at the Stork Club

(2009)
And Other Mysteries
A collection of stories by

 
CRIME AND MYSTERY FROM THE AUTHOR OF LAURA! Vera Caspary (1889-1987), playwright and novelist, is best remembered for the novel which led to the great Otto Preminger movie, Laura, but she also wrote novellas and novelettes which combined mystery and suspense with an awareness of gender and class issues. Working-class sleuths in high-class settings (like New York's famed Stork Club), sexual and work-place tension, Nazi spies during the Second World War, complex characters -- all these elements were combined in Caspary s writing with an impeccable smoothness in plotting. In one story, she even has a gathering of suspects at the denouement in the tradition of Agatha Christie. The Murder in the Stork Club and Other Mysteries is edited by Caspary-expert A. B. Emrys

 
Used availability for Vera Caspary's The Murder at the Stork Club


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

October 2009 : USA Hardback
Title: The Murder at the Stork Club and Other Mysteries (Lost Classic)
Author(s): Vera Caspary
ISBN: 1-932009-85-X / 978-1-932009-85-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crippen & Landru Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

October 2009 : USA Paperback
Title: The Murder at the Stork Club and Other Mysteries (Lost Classics)
Author(s): Vera Caspary
ISBN: 1-932009-86-8 / 978-1-932009-86-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crippen & Landru Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for