book cover of The Butterfly Conspiracy
Added by 9 of our members

The Butterfly Conspiracy

(2018)
(The first book in the Merriweather & Royston Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn’s Veronica Speedwell mysteries comes the enchanting series debut from Vivian Conroy, The Butterfly Conspiracy.

In late Victorian times, when new inventions cause both excitement and terror, a mysterious death at a zoological lecture brings together two unlikely allies in a quest through London's upper crust and underbelly to unravel the ingenious murder method and killer behind it.


Miss Merula Merriweather is not like other women her age: instead of hunting for a husband at balls and soirees she spends her time in a conservatory hatching exotic creatures. As the Royal Zoological Society won't accept a woman's accomplishments, she has her uncle Rupert take credit for her achievements. But at a zoological lecture, the guest of honor dies after contact with one of Merula's butterflies, and Merula's uncle is arrested for murder.

In an attempt to safeguard evidence to prove his innocence, Merula almost gets killed but for the timely interference of enigmatic Lord Raven Royston. Viewing natural history as a last resort to regain respectability lost by too many dubious business investments, Raven didn't expect his first lecture to take a murderous turn. Feeling partially responsible because he encouraged Merula to release the gigantic butterfly from the glass case in which it was kept, Raven suggests they solve the puzzle of Lady Sophia's sudden death together by looking closer at her relations with estranged friends, long suffering staff and the man groomed to be her heir, so close to her money and yet unable to touch any of it.

With the police looking for them, and every new discovery raising more questions than answers, especially about the murder method which left no traces of foul play on the body, Merula will have to risk her own life to get at the truth and save her uncle from the gallows in The Butterfly Conspiracy, Vivian Conroy’s enchanting series debut.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Vivian Conroy has created a memorable cast of characters certain to become favorites. I’d love to see Merula Merriweather and Deanna Raybourn’s Veronica Speedwell meet up for a not-so-genteel tea." - Tasha Alexander

"The Butterfly Conspiracy has everything a reader could want, great characters, a smart heroine and most of all a compelling plot that will keep you turning the pages." - Emily Brightwell


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Unpleasantness At Parkerton Manor
(Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street, book 1)
Barry S Brown
thumb
The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes
(Daughter of Sherlock Holmes, book 1)
Leonard Goldberg
thumb
Betrayal at Ravenswick
(Fiona Figg Mystery, book 1)
Kelly Oliver
thumb
The Wages of Sin
(Matthew Rowsley mystery, book 1)
Judith Cutler

Used availability for Vivian Conroy's The Butterfly Conspiracy

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Butterfly Conspiracy: A Merriweather and Royston Mystery
Author(s): Vivian Conroy
ISBN: 1-68331-765-3 / 978-1-68331-765-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Butterfly Conspiracy: A Merriweather and Royston Mystery
Author(s): Vivian Conroy
ISBN: 1-68331-993-1 / 978-1-68331-993-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Butterfly Conspiracy: A Merriweather and Royston Mystery
Author(s): Vivian Conroy
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU