book cover of Scarlet Spirits

Scarlet Spirits

(2019)
(Book 14 in the Daisy Gumm Majesty series)
A novel by

 
 
When a Former Madame Bilks Bounty Hunter, Lou Prophet, Out of Money to Start a New Life, Daisy and Sam Intervene to Save Her Life in SCARLET SPIRITS, a Cozy Historical Mystery by Alice Duncan

--1925, Pasadena, California--

Angie Mainwaring moves to Pasadena to start a new life and atone for her past by rescuing former "sporting" girls and housing them in a mansion in her orange grove just down the street from Daisy and her folks.

Unfortunately, one of the people Angie bilked to fund her new life is notorious bounty hunter, Lou Prophet. Daisy tries to make peace between Angie and Lou but Lou's not happy.

Even worse, it seems that everyone from Angie's past is coming to Pasadena to avenge their grievances against her and things get out of hand when Lou shoots one of the aggrieved out of an orange tree.

Now Daisy and Sam are doing a merry dance to keep Angie alive and themselves out of trouble.

Get ready for the next installment in the Daisy Gumm Majesty Mystery Series. A series which RT Book Reviews described as "Well plotted with a band of whimsical characters and genuine humor..."

From the Publisher: The Daisy Gumm Majesty Cozy Mystery Series is a light-hearted mystery in a historical setting. There are no explicit sexual scenes and minimal cursing and will be enjoyed by readers who appreciate clean and wholesome reads. Fans of Peter Brandvold's, Lou Prophet, Bounty Hunter Series will enjoy meeting Lou in his later years. Readers who enjoy Carola Dunn, Amanda Quick, Elizabeth Peters, Rhys Bowen and M. Louisa Locke will not want to miss this series.

"The characters come alive on the page. . . "~Andie Senji, Verified Reviewer

"Each one seems as fresh and entertaining as the first." ~Kilian, Verified Reviewer

"Got the first in the series and couldn't wait to get the next. I have read them all . . ." ~Joann, Verified Reviewer

"Daisy is great, I love the feel of 1920s Pasadena . . ." ~Yafa Crane Luria, Verified Reviewer

"Each book gets better and better and better." ~Doobs, Verified Reviewer

You can start anywhere, but you'll want to read all of the Daisy Gumm Majesty Mysteries:

Strong Spirits
Fine Spirits
High Spirits
Hungry Spirits
Genteel Spirits
Ancient Spirits
Dark Spirits
Spirits Onstage
Unsettled Spirits
Spirits United
Spirits Unearthed
Shaken Spirits
Scarlet Spirits


ABOUT ALICE DUNCAN:
In an effort to avoid what she knew she should be doing, Alice folk-danced professionally until her writing muse finally had its way. Now a resident of Roswell, New Mexico, Alice enjoys saying no smog, no crowds, and yes to loving her herd of wild Dachshunds.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Nobody's Sweetheart Now
(Lady Adelaide Mystery, book 1)
Maggie Robinson
thumb
Lady Rample Sits In
(Lady Rample Mystery, book 4)
Shéa MacLeod

Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scarlet Spirits (A Daisy Gumm Majesty Mystery, Book 14): Historical Mystery
Author(s): Alice Duncan
Publisher: ePublishing Works!
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU