New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>
book cover of 

Learning to Speak American

Learning to Speak American

(2015)
A novel by

 
For fans of Hilary Boyd and The Tea Planter's Wife, Colette Dartford's Learning to Speak American explores whether a parent can ever truly move on from the death of a child. 'a moving and engaging debut novel ...shortens the dark nights' Santa Montefiore Having suffered in silence since the tragic death of their young daughter, Lola and Duncan Drummond's last chance to rediscover their love for one another lies in an anniversary holiday to the gorgeous Napa Valley. Unable to talk about what happened, Duncan reaches out to his wife the only way he knows how - he buys her a derelict house, the restoration of which might just restore their relationship. As Lola works on the house she begins to realise the liberating power of letting go. But just as she begins to open up, Duncan's life begins to fall apart. After all the heartbreak, can Lola and Duncan learn to love again? 'A heartrending story, well-told, about coping with unimaginable loss. Dartford evokes strong, sympathetic characters while writing fluently and from the heart. I raced through it.' Hilary Boyd, author of Thursdays in the Park 'A beautiful read, lyrically written, poignant and emotional' - Nicola Cornick, internationally bestselling author of House of Shadows 'Does everything a good book should do; it made me smile, it made me cry, it taught me lessons about life and love I didn't know before' - Claire Dyer, author of The Moment

 
Used availability for Colette Dartford's Learning to Speak American


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

July 2016 : UK Paperback
Title: Learning to Speak American: A life-affirming story of starting again
Author(s): Colette Dartford
ISBN: 1-78577-002-0 / 978-1-78577-002-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Twenty7
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

November 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Learning to Speak American: A life-affirming story of starting again
Author(s): Colette Dartford
Publisher: twenty7
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for