New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Shifted By The Winds

(The eighth book in the Bregdan Chronicles series)
A novel by

Shifted By The Winds is the eighth book in the Bregdan Chronicles historical fiction series. As of today, there are 10 books in the series. Make sure you start reading with # 1 - Storm Clouds Rolling In. It's readers like you who have turned the series into a world-wide best-seller. Thank you!
Book Description:Will Reconstruction really change America?

Carrie and her housemates battle cholera in Philadelphia. Her world is turned upside down when she discovers the truth of her heritage. Will it completely change her path?

Robert watches his dreams fade before his eyes when he refuses to align himself with southern beliefs after the war. Rose has to face down a new threat, and Moses is forced to step into the role he has avoided.

Janie has agreed to marry Matthew, but can she actually move beyond her fears and become his wife? And will Jeremy realize Marietta's life as a Mulatto's wife is just too dangerous for the woman he loves?

So many of the characters you have come to know and love face both challenges and joys in this turbulent time in history.

Volume # 8 of The Bregdan Chronicles continues the sweeping historical saga that now encompasses the continuation of American Reconstruction.

How many books will be in the Bregdan Chronicles? No one knows yet... Ginny intends to write these character's stories, one year at a time, for as long as she is able to write. She is passionate about bringing history to life through historical fiction. Since she is amazingly healthy, that could be for a very long time! She doesn't like stories to end any more than you do. This one won't end for a very long time!

Review: Ginny Dye has done it again! This book is so new that I don't want to do any spoilers in this review. But I will say that I believe a person would benefit the most from this amazing series if they would read the first book, Storm Clouds Rolling In, and then proceed from there. That way, you become acquainted with all of the characters in the series and what they have all been through. In this one, book #8 in the series, it is just after the Civil War has ended and even though slavery was abolished, the South will not accept that their way of life is gone forever. Some of them are still trying to hold onto to the old way of life no matter what the cost. Which makes living in the south dangerous for all blacks or anyone who stands with the blacks.

We, once again, follow Carrie Cromwell Borden, on her journey through life and the amazing things this woman accomplishes. If you are a person who enjoys reading about the Civil War Era, I think you will love this book. At times, throughout the reading of this series, the politics were a bit daunting for me, but the politics are necessary for one to know what is happening in the country at the time. It is my opinion that Ginny Dye is a genius at being a writer. It is so very obvious that she's had to put hundreds, if not thousands, of hours into research in order to write this magnificent series The Bregdan Chronicles. It is the very best account of life in the south before, during, and after the Civil War that I have ever read. I just hate that I must wait another year before reading book# 9.

Review: This is the #8 of a 9 book series dealing with the lives and horror of the Civil War. I have never been so emotionally involved with books as I have with the Bregdan Chronicles. I have learned so much about how the war started, and the fact that after the war the abolitionists, black people, and Southerners were still at war. Many lives were lost years after the war. A different kind of war. I also felt like I was a character in the book. I felt so deeply involved with each character. Putting the book down just to get dinner was hard. I was so lost in the book and with each book.

Genre: Historical Romance
Similar Books by other authors...

The Sekhmet Bed
(She-king, book 1)

Libbie Hawker

(JET, book 1)

Russell Blake

Shadows of the Past
(Logan Point, book 1)

Patricia Bradley

In Between
(Katie Parker Production, book 1)

Jenny B Jones
Used availability for Ginny Dye's Shifted By The Winds

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

June 2015 : Paperback
thumbTitle: Shifted By The Winds (# 8 in the Bregdan Chronicles Historical Fiction Romance S
Author(s): Ginny Dye
ISBN: 1-5141-7520-7 / 978-1-5141-7520-0
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

April 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: Shifted by the Winds: Bregdan Chronicles Series, Book 8
Author(s): Ginny Dye
Publisher: Ginny Dye
Availability: Amazon   

April 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: Shifted by the Winds: Bregdan Chronicles Series, Book 8
Author(s): Ginny Dye
Publisher: Ginny Dye
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

March 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Shifted By The Winds (# 8 in the Bregdan Chronicles Historical Fiction Romance Series)
Author(s): Ginny Dye
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for