book cover of Murder in the Belltower
Added by 19 of our members

Murder in the Belltower

(2021)
(The fifth book in the Miss Underhay Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Kitty Underhay’s hymn book is open… at murder.

Winter, 1933. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a restorative break from sleuthing on a visit to her family at Enderley Hall. The only thing marring her peace – aside from the uncomfortable sensation she has of being watched – is the obvious history between her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant and another guest, the beautiful Juliet Vanderstafen. So, when the parish clerk is found dead on her front doorstep, Kitty leaps at the chance of distraction.

The police are happy to conclude that Miss Plenderleith met her unfortunate end on a patch of ice, but Kitty isn’t convinced this was a case of bad weather and worse luck. And when the Reverend Crabtree fails to show for tea the next day, she heads to the church to speak to him. But she arrives to find the clergyman hanging from the bell rope, dead.

With Matt seemingly wrapped up with his alluring Austrian, Kitty must solve the case on her own. But as she snoops into parish affairs, she makes some less-than-saintly discoveries. Just who has broken the sixth commandment? Meanwhile the killer is preparing a churchyard grave for Kitty, and she’ll have to use all her wits to avoid falling in…

An addictive, absorbing and completely unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Readers love Murder in the Belltower:


Unputdownable… wonderful… a totally engrossing story… I found myself reading the book through dinner and staying up way too late to finish the story.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Devious plot twists and red herrings combined with exceptional characters make this a must read. Loved it!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Delightfulfast-paced and enjoyable. I loved the characters and the storyline. Lots of twists and turns and a few red herrings. Loved it.’ My Fiction Book Review, 5 stars

‘An absolute joy to read.’ The Book Jotter, 5 stars

Absolutely wonderful book… a charming cozy mystery with delightful twists and turns and kept me guessing throughout.’ Blue Pink Books

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Helena Dixon's Murder in the Belltower

Paperback Editions

January 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Murder in the Belltower: An utterly gripping historical cozy mystery
Author(s): Helena Dixon
ISBN: 1-80019-059-X / 978-1-80019-059-7
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Belltower: A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Helena Dixon
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


February 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Belltower: A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Helena Dixon
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Belltower: A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Helena Dixon
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Belltower: A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Helena Dixon
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Belltower: An utterly gripping historical cozy mystery (A Miss Underhay Mystery Book 5)
Author(s): Helena Dixon
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU