New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Devourers

The Devourers

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER . NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man's unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger's behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman-and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok's interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past withintoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

Praise for The Devourers

"A chilling, gorgeous saga that spans several centuries and many lands . . . The all-too-human characters-including the nonhuman ones-and the dreamlike, recursive plot serve to entrance the reader. . . . There's no escaping The Devourers. Readers will savor every bite."-N. K. Jemisin, The New York TimesBook Review

"The Devourers is beautiful. It is brutal. It is violent and vicious. . . . [It] also showcases Das's [...]

    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Akata Witch
(Akata Witch, book 1)
Nnedi Okorafor
thumb
The Rook
(Checquy Files, book 1)
Daniel O'Malley
thumb
The Obelisk Gate
(Broken Earth, book 2)
N K Jemisin

Used availability for Indra Das's The Devourers

Hardback Editions

July 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Devourers
Author(s): Indra Das
ISBN: 1-101-96751-X / 978-1-101-96751-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Del Rey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Devourers
Author(s): Indra Das
ISBN: 1-101-96753-6 / 978-1-101-96753-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Del Rey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

July 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devourers
Author(s): Indra Das
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Devourers
Author(s): Indra Das
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Devourers
Author(s): Indra Das
Publisher: Del Rey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA