New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Shadows on a Throne

Shadows on a Throne

(1976)
A novel by

 
 
Macbeth's star is ascending. Successful in battle, ennobled by King Duncan and loved by his fellow thanes and lords, he has every reward he could want - including his longed-for wife Giorsal, the beautiful Lady Macbeth.
So what madness makes him long to offer her a crown, to contemplate the unthinkable, to murder a king?
In one of the most ambitious and compelling works of historical fiction, Juliet Dymoke weaves the legend of Macbeth into a prequel to her acclaimed medieval saga, The Conqueror Trilogy.
On her vividly painted canvases of the noble households, the wild landscapes and terrible bloody battlefields of Scotland, the opulent Papal Court in the heat of Rome and the chill of the English court, Juliet Dymoke brings the tragedy of murder, bloodshed and bitter revenge to life. The master storyteller revisits the great story of Macbeth and introduces us for the first time to the cast of The Conqueror Trilogy: The great Siward, his sons Osbeorn and young Waltheof, and to Harold the future King of England.

For fans of Sharon Penman and Elizabeth Chadwick.

    

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Juliet Dymoke's Shadows on a Throne

Hardback Editions

November 1976 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadows on a Throne
Author(s): Juliet Dymoke
ISBN: 0-85523-074-6 / 978-0-85523-074-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: TBS The Book Service Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadows on a Throne - the epic story of Macbeth as you've never read it before (Conqueror Trilogy - Prequel Book 4)
Author(s): Juliet Dymoke
Publisher: Three Castles Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA