New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Black Mile

The Black Mile

(The first book in the Soho Noir series)
A novel by

London, 1940: The Luftwaffe blitzes London every night for 57 nights. Houses, shops, and entire streets are wiped from the map. The underworld is in flux: The Italian criminals who dominated the West End have been interned, and now their rivals are fighting to replace them. Meanwhile, hidden in the shadows, the Black-Out Ripper sharpens his knife and sets to his grisly work.

Henry Irving is a disgraced reporter on a Fleet Street scandal rag. Genius detective sergeant Charlie Murphy is a fresh face in the Metropolitan police, hunting corrupt colleagues but blinkered by ambition and jealousy. His brother, detective inspector Frank Murphy, searches frantically for his runaway daughter, terrified that she will be the killer's next victim.

As the Ripper stalks the terrified streets, the three men discover that his handiwork is not quite what it seems. Conspirators are afoot, taking advantage of the chaos to settle old scores. The murders invade the lives of the victims and victimizers on both sides of the law, as everyone is sucked deeper and deeper into Soho's black heart.

Based on a little-known true story, The Black Mile is a roller-coaster ride of an audiobook.

Genre: Historical Mystery    Get it on Google Play

Used availability for Mark Dawson's The Black Mile

Paperback Editions

January 2013 : USA Paperback

Title: The Black Mile
Author(s): Mark Dawson
ISBN: 1-4820-5134-6 / 978-1-4820-5134-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

August 2014 : UK Audio edition

Title: The Black Mile: Soho Noir Thrillers, Book 1
Author(s): Mark Dawson
Publisher: Mark J Dawson
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

November 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Black Mile (Soho Noir Thrillers, #1)
Author(s): Mark Dawson
Publisher: Black Dog Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA