New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Cry of a Seagull

(The third book in the Messenger series)
A novel by

Since the beginning of time, Favour, the mystical horse, had been coming to earth to rescue the victims of evil and injustice. Being still only a horse, although a spirit free in eternity, he used living people as messengers to carry out his work. People like Rose, at this special age when anything is possible. With the horse, she can transcend time and space to travel to other scenes in the past, present and future that were as real as her everyday life.

Rose is not having an easy summer. Her grandfather is ill, and her mother has been called away to look after him, leaving thirteen-year-old Rose and her clueless father to manage without her. This means taking control of the hotel her mother runs by the sea in the full clamour of tourist season--Rose has her work cut out for her. All this work gets in the way of riding with her friend Abigail, and sailing with Ben, an older boy that comes to stay at the hotel every summer with his father.

But her earthly woes are overshadowed by her duties as a magical messenger. She is transported through time by Favour, witnessing important clues that all lead up to an injustice that Rose must prevent. To make matters worse, the evil Lord of the Moor is trying to stop her with his ghostly army. The distractions of her real life struggle against the importance of her mission, but Rose must overcome all difficulties, if good is to prevail.

Cry of a Seagull is the last part of The Messenger fantasy series written by Monica Dickens.

    Get it on Google Play
Used availability for Monica Dickens's Cry of a Seagull

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Hardback Editions

September 1986 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: Cry of a Seagull
Author(s): Monica Dickens
ISBN: 0-00-191122-8 / 978-0-00-191122-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Armada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

September 1986 : UK Paperback
Title: Cry of a Seagull (The messenger series)
Author(s): Monica Dickens
ISBN: 0-00-692647-9 / 978-0-00-692647-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Armada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

February 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Cry of a Seagull
Author(s): Monica Dickens
Publisher: Bloomsbury Reader
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for