New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

There\'s More to Life Than Cupcakes

There's More to Life Than Cupcakes

A novel by

If you can't get enough of The Great British Bake Off, this is the novel for you! Perfect for fans of Kirsty Greenwood, Sue Watson and Jenny Colgan. A funny, moving, deliciously cakey read...

Ellie Redford has a husband, a job and a home. According to the rest of the world, it's baby o'clock already. Shame life doesn't come with a recipe...

Ellie knows that starting a family with lovely husband Pete would be an amazing adventure. Pete would make a brilliant dad and she'd have an excuse to eat shed loads of Cherry Bakewell. But Ellie's bestie would rather she was up at 3 a.m. with a bottle of Malibu, not formula. And with redundancies looming, Ellie's boss isn't exactly going to throw her a shower if she disappears for a year, with pay.

While Ellie juggles her feelings (and everyone else's) as competently as a drunken clown, she finds herself signing up for a baking class, alongside the young, free and sizzling hot Joe. As they work buns and shape tarts, is there more to their friendship than a shared appreciation of Paul Hollywood?

Ellie's souffles may be rising, but her personal life is one big soggy mess. If she doesn't make a decision soon, she may just lose everything that matters to her. Maybe it's time to take off the pinny and face up to the truth: there's more to life than cupcakes...

Praise for Poppy Dolan:

"A fresh, sparkling new voice and a wonderful addition to women's commercial fiction, Poppy Dolan is simply unputdownable."
Sunday Times Bestselling author, Claudia Carroll

"The perfect book to curl up with this autumn, Poppy Dolan's fabulous take on family, friendships and finding the right time is a rival to even the best chocolate brownie. This is warm, funny, feel-good fiction at its very best. Can I lick the spoon, please?"
Bestselling author, Victoria Fox

"Fresh, funny and full of baking deliciousness, There's More to Life Than Cupcakes will take you on a heart-warming journey with Ellie, a heroine you won't forget. Poppy Dolan's style is addictive and this novel marks her out as a writer to watch."
Abby Clements, bestselling author of Meet Me Under the Mistletoe

"An engaging read that tackles a serious issue with sensitivity, humour, and wit."
Bestselling author, Talli Roland

"Witty and stylish, it's a fabulous novel from new writer Poppy Dolan. We loved it! Highly recommended!"
Hot Brands, Cool Places

"This book is a must read for chick lit fans. I loved everything about it, from the gorgeous cover to the perfect ending."
Fairytale Ending Book Reviews

"An immediate love at first read! I loved Poppy's writing style and sense of humour and felt a genuine rapport with the characters, especially Ellie."
Room for Reading

"What a fantastic book! I really can't even do it justice! I cried, I laughed, I cheered (not even silently), I ate cake. I just genuinely adored everything about this book."
Tishy Lou's World

"A sweet (and delicious!) little tale of one woman's absolutely mental journey in deciding whether or not she's ready for motherhood. I enjoyed it tremendously."

"Funny, full of feeling, honest, warm and heartfelt. A book I didn't want to say goodbye to."
Victoria Loves Books

Used availability for Poppy Dolan's There's More to Life Than Cupcakes

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Kindle Editions

October 2013 : UK Kindle edition
Title: There's More to Life Than Cupcakes
Author(s): Poppy Dolan
Publisher: Poppy Dolan
Availability: Amazon UK   

Search for