New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    

Sweetbitter

(2016)
A novel by

 
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.

Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City." Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships - and love - set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen - for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging - Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.

Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant - conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Nest
Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

Girls on Fire
Robin Wasserman

Rich and Pretty
Rumaan Alam

Commonwealth
Ann Patchett
 
Used availability for Stephanie Danler's Sweetbitter


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

April 2017 : USA Library Binding
Title: Sweetbitter (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-606-40033-8 / 978-0-606-40033-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-4104-9343-1 / 978-1-4104-9343-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2016 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-78074-915-5 / 978-1-78074-915-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter: A novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-101-87594-1 / 978-1-101-87594-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-101-91186-7 / 978-1-101-91186-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-4328-3992-6 / 978-1-4328-3992-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Large Print Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-78607-037-5 / 978-1-78607-037-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

June 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter 2016
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-78607-012-X / 978-1-78607-012-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-451-49335-4 / 978-0-451-49335-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Lcc Us
Availability: Amazon UK   

Audio Editions

May 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-399-56628-7 / 978-0-399-56628-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

June 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   

May 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Sweetbitter: A novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Search for