book cover of Sweetbitter
Added by 4 of our members

Sweetbitter

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
Instant national best seller.

A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for fans of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.

Twenty-two and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City". Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships - and love - set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.

As her appetites sharpen - for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging - Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.

Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant - conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Stephanie Danler's Sweetbitter

Hardback Editions

April 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-606-40033-8 / 978-0-606-40033-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2016 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-4104-9343-1 / 978-1-4104-9343-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: Now a major TV series
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-78074-915-5 / 978-1-78074-915-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: A novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-101-87594-1 / 978-1-101-87594-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 1900 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter (Movie Tie-In Edition) (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-525-56482-9 / 978-0-525-56482-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-4328-3992-6 / 978-1-4328-3992-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Large Print Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-101-91186-7 / 978-1-101-91186-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: Now a major TV series
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-78607-037-5 / 978-1-78607-037-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 1-78607-012-X / 978-1-78607-012-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-451-49335-4 / 978-0-451-49335-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Alfred a Knopf
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
ISBN: 0-399-56628-7 / 978-0-399-56628-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: A Novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: Now a major TV series
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sweetbitter: A novel
Author(s): Stephanie Danler
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA