book cover of Orphans of the Storm
Added by 2 of our members

Orphans of the Storm

(1990)
(The sixth book in the Commander Cochrane Smith Naval Thrillers series)
A novel by

 
 

A secret mission sails into disaster in this Second World War thriller.

1939: Captain David Cochrane Smith, veteran of the First World War and now an intelligence officer, is sent to rescue an American war correspondent from General Franco's Guardias. During the extraction he makes a narrow escape from German officer Kurt Larsen. En route to a new posting, his ship is attacked and he is taken prisoner, aboard the German ship Brandenburg.

He must hide his true identity, as Smith will be shot if he is found to be more than the naval officer he claims to be, and Larsen, on board the Brandenburg, is more than suspicious of the British officer…

Soon Smith realises that the Brandenburg poses a bigger threat to Britain than anyone would believe. Desperate to buy time for the British fleet, and aware that he has a very personal stake in the upcoming battle, Smith will go to extreme lengths to sabotage the German war effort. But will he be victorious in his battle for the seas?

Orphans of the Storm is a thrilling naval adventure set among some of the most dangerous fighting of the Second World War, perfect for fans of Alexander Fullerton and David Black.

Praise for Alan Evans

'Cracking war adventure' Yorkshire Evening Post

'I think a 21 gun salute is required... Alan Evans has produced a cracking thriller' Daily Mirror

'Evans provides a different sea story, sustained suspense and vivid battle scenes' Publishers Weekly

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
American Traitor
(Pike Logan, book 15)
Brad Taylor
thumb
Deadly Cross
(Alex Cross, book 28)
James Patterson

Used availability for Alan Evans's Orphans of the Storm

Hardback Editions

October 1991 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Orphans of the Storm (Ulverscroft Large Print)
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-7089-2515-4 / 978-0-7089-2515-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 1990 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Orphans of the Storm
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-340-51082-X / 978-0-340-51082-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2001 : UK Paperback

Title: Orphans of the Storm
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-7551-0570-2 / 978-0-7551-0570-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: House of Stratus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 1991 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Orphans of the Storm (Coronet Books)
Author(s): Alan Evans
ISBN: 0-340-54414-7 / 978-0-340-54414-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Coronet Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Orphans of the Storm (The Commander Cochrane Smith Naval Thrillers Book 6)
Author(s): Alan Evans
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU