New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Castle in the Mist

The Castle in the Mist

(2017)
(The first book in the Castle in the Mist series)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement - and the dangers - of wishing.

Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn't disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is.

But at William's castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone.

In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they'd wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden - and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real.

Praise for The Castle in the Mist:

"Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron's first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways." - Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

"This beautiful story's quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max's separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy." - Booklist

"Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book's beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world....A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens." - Kirkus Reviews

"There are scenes...that are transcendent in their beautiful, ethereal descriptions [in this] uplifting novel about family and connection." - BCCB

"A slightly darker, updated take on magical realism classics such as Edward Eager's Half Magic and E. Nesbit's The Enchanted Castle." - School Library Journal

"A near-perfect 9....This book defies gravity because it's hard to put down!" - Time for Kids, kid reporter

Genre: Children's Fiction    

"Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron’s first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways." - Holly Goldberg Sloan


Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
Last Day on Mars
(Chronicle of the Dark Star, book 1)
Kevin Emerson

Used availability for Amy Ephron's The Castle in the Mist

Hardback Editions

February 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
ISBN: 0-399-54698-7 / 978-0-399-54698-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
ISBN: 0-399-54700-2 / 978-0-399-54700-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Puffin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
ISBN: 1-5247-5020-4 / 978-1-5247-5020-6
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


February 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2017 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Castle in the Mist
Author(s): Amy Ephron
Publisher: Philomel Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA