New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

(2005)
A novel by

 
 
For more than two centuries Marie Antoinette has been vilified as the heartless, frivolous queen who spent lavishly while her people starved. Now, in the tradition of The Birth of Venus and The Other Boleyn Girl, this moving new novel tells her side of the story.
Imagine that, on the night before she is to die under the blade of the guillotine, Marie Antoinette leaves behind in her prison cell a diary telling the story of her life - from her privileged childhood as Austrian Archduchess to her years as glamorous mistress of Versailles to the heartbreak of imprisonment and humiliation during the French Revolution. Carolly Erickson takes us deep into the psyche of France's doomed queen: her love affair with handsome Swedish diplomat Count Axel Fersen, who risked his life to save her on the terrifying night the Parisian mob broke into her palace bedroom intent on murdering her and her family; her harrowing flight from France in disguise, her recapture and the grim months of harsh captivity; her agony when her beloved husband was guillotined and her beloved son was torn from her arms, never to be seen again.

Erickson brilliantly captures the queen's voice, her hopes, her dreads, her suffering. We follow, mesmerized, as she reveals every detail of her remarkable, eventful life, from her teenage years when she began keeping a diary to her final days when she awaited her own bloody appointment with the guillotine.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...

thumb
The Kitchen Boy
(House of Romanov Trilogy, book 1)
Robert Alexander

Used availability for Carolly Erickson's The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

Hardback Editions

February 2006 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-59722-157-0 / 978-1-59722-157-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2005 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-312-33708-6 / 978-0-312-33708-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2005 : USA Hardback

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7394-5876-0 / 978-0-7394-5876-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

May 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-906217-39-4 / 978-1-906217-39-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: JR Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2007 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinet
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7322-8359-0 / 978-0-7322-8359-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2006 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-312-36150-5 / 978-0-312-36150-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2006 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7322-8360-4 / 978-0-7322-8360-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2005 : USA Audio CD

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette (Robert Amiss Mysteries)
Author(s): Carrington MacDuffie
ISBN: 0-7927-3773-3 / 978-0-7927-3773-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2005 : USA Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette (Robert Amiss Mysteries)
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7927-3772-5 / 978-0-7927-3772-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2005 : USA Audio Cassette

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carrington MacDuffie, Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7927-3841-1 / 978-0-7927-3841-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2005 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2005 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2005 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-59397-829-4 / 978-1-59397-829-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2005 : USA Audio CD

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-223-05274-5 / 978-1-223-05274-8 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


September 2005 : USA Audio CD

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-59397-830-8 / 978-1-59397-830-3 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2007 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA