New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

(2005)
A novel by

 
For more than two centuries Marie Antoinette has been vilified as the heartless, frivolous queen who spent lavishly while her people starved. Now, in the tradition of The Birth of Venus and The Other Boleyn Girl, this moving new novel tells her side of the story.
Imagine that, on the night before she is to die under the blade of the guillotine, Marie Antoinette leaves behind in her prison cell a diary telling the story of her life - from her privileged childhood as Austrian Archduchess to her years as glamorous mistress of Versailles to the heartbreak of imprisonment and humiliation during the French Revolution. Carolly Erickson takes us deep into the psyche of France's doomed queen: her love affair with handsome Swedish diplomat Count Axel Fersen, who risked his life to save her on the terrifying night the Parisian mob broke into her palace bedroom intent on murdering her and her family; her harrowing flight from France in disguise, her recapture and the grim months of harsh captivity; her agony when her beloved husband was guillotined and her beloved son was torn from her arms, never to be seen again.

Erickson brilliantly captures the queen's voice, her hopes, her dreads, her suffering. We follow, mesmerized, as she reveals every detail of her remarkable, eventful life, from her teenage years when she began keeping a diary to her final days when she awaited her own bloody appointment with the guillotine.

 
Used availability for Carolly Erickson's The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

February 2006 : USA Hardback
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-59722-157-0 / 978-1-59722-157-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Wheeler Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2005 : USA Hardback
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-312-33708-6 / 978-0-312-33708-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2005 : USA Hardback
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7394-5876-0 / 978-0-7394-5876-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

May 2008 : UK Paperback
Title: Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-906217-39-4 / 978-1-906217-39-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: JR Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   

January 2007 : Australia Paperback
Title: Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinet
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7322-8359-0 / 978-0-7322-8359-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2006 : USA Paperback
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-312-36150-5 / 978-0-312-36150-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2006 : Australia Paperback
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7322-8360-4 / 978-0-7322-8360-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

October 2005 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette (Robert Amiss Mysteries)
Author(s): Carrington MacDuffie, Carolly Erickson PhD
ISBN: 0-7927-3773-3 / 978-0-7927-3773-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2005 : USA Audio Cassette
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette (Robert Amiss Mysteries)
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7927-3772-5 / 978-0-7927-3772-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 2005 : USA Audio Cassette
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carrington MacDuffie, Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 0-7927-3841-1 / 978-0-7927-3841-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon CA   

September 2005 : UK Audio edition
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   

September 2005 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-59397-829-4 / 978-1-59397-829-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2005 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-223-05274-5 / 978-1-223-05274-8 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

September 2005 : USA Audio CD
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
ISBN: 1-59397-830-8 / 978-1-59397-830-3 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

April 2007 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel
Author(s): Carolly Erickson
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   



Search for