1 follower

Cyprian Ekwensi

Nigeria (1921 - 2007)

Cyprian Ekwensi was born in Nigeria in 1921, the son of an elephant hunter. In early life, he worked as a forestry officer in Nigeria and as a pharmacist in Romford, Essex. On returning home, he wrote his first novel, People of the City (1954), which was one of the first Nigerian novels to be published internationally. Jagua Nana, his most famous book, appeared in 1961 and won the Dag Hammarskjöld prize in literature, though it was banned in schools and attacked by the church. In later life Ekwensi worked in broadcasting, politics and as a pharmacist, while writing over forty books and scripts. He died in 2008, survived by his wife and nine children.
   The Leopard's Claw (1950)
   People Of The City (1954)
   The Drummer Boy (1960)
   The Passport of Mallam Ilia (1960)
   Jagua Nana (1961)
   An African Night's Entertainment (1962)
   Burning Grass (1962)
   Beautiful Feathers (1963)
   Iska (1963)
   Boa Suitor (1966)
   Juju Rock (1966)
   Coal Camp Boy (1973)
   Survive the Peace (1976)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbno image availablethumbno image available
Novellas and Short Stories
   Trouble in Form Six (1966)
   Samankwe and the Highway Robbers (1972)
   Samankwe in the Strange Forest (1975)
   The Motherless Baby (1980)
   Masquerade Time (1991)
   King for Ever! (1992)
   The Red Flag (1996)
   Glittering City (2018)
thumbthumbno image availableno image available

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors