book cover of Rough Beasts

Rough Beasts

Seventeen Stories Written Before I Got Up To Speed
A collection of stories by

This anthology assembles seventeen never-before-collected pulp stories from the 1950s. Includes - for the first time since its original publication in the April 1957 issue of SUPER-SCIENCE FICTION - "Invulnerable," which STEPHEN KING described as " of my favorite stories..." when it nearly appeared in Ellison's 1982 collection, STALKING THE NIGHTMARE. It's taken 30 years, but "Invulnerable" is finally available again. Every story has been revised by the author specifically for this collection. Stories include: "Invulnerable" (1957), "Like Father, Like Son" (1957), "Walk the Ceiling" (1957), "The Kissing Dead" (1956, written with Henry Slesar), "Across the Silent Days" (1958), "Star Route" (1955), "Backlash!" (1956), "Machine Silent, Machine Yearning" (1957), "Way of an Assassin" (1958), "Fool's Mate" (1958), "The Untouchable Adolescents" (1956), "The Little Boy Who Loves Cats" (1954), "Parasite" (1955), "Up the Down Escalator" (1955), "Glug" (1958), "Hit-Skip" (1957), and "Why Did Wallace Crack?" (1956).

Used availability for Harlan Ellison's Rough Beasts

Paperback Editions

November 2013 : USA Paperback

Title: Rough Beasts: Seventeen Stories Written Before I Got Up To Speed
Author(s): Harlan Ellison
ISBN: 0-9836223-5-3 / 978-0-9836223-5-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Edgeworks Abbey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA