book cover of A Gift of Poison
Added by 3 of our members

A Gift of Poison

(2014)
(The first book in the Kingmakers' War series)
A novel by

 
 
"...[O]riginal ... astute worldbuilding ... fantasy fans should be pleased." --Kirkus Reviews

Bestselling Amazon author of THE FROST CHRONICLES, Kate Avery Ellison, delivers a fantasy novel packed with clever betrayals, surprising twists, and many moments of delicious vindication for its scrappy heroine. This is a must-read for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s THRONE OF GLASS, Maria V. Snyder’s POISON STUDY, Megan Whalen Turner's THE THIEF, and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES.

Briand just wants to survive.

Oh, she's clever. She's quick with knives and even quicker with cards. She can scramble up a castle wall. She can ride a bad-tempered stallion with her arms tied behind her back.

But her odd, unseemly skills have never been enough to protect her, for she's an orphan, no better than a guttersnipe in her uncle's eyes. Because the lord of the manor despises her, everyone else feels free to as well. The guards, her cousin's tutor... Even Kael, the handsome, enigmatic young steward who has protected her from her uncle’s wrath too many times already, sees her as nothing but trouble with a sassy tongue and pretty green eyes.

But when Briand unexpectedly--and accidentally--gains the power to control dragons, she becomes the weapon to winning the kingdom's bitter civil war.

Terrifying magic users called Seekers are now hunting her as Briand plunges into a world of danger, betrayal, and secrets, with only a motley band of rebel fighters to protect her. Or have they kidnapped her? It's hard to tell sometimes.

Briand's going to need all her cleverness to survive.

Click now and fall in love with your new favorite fantasy, the beloved and binge-worthy Kingmakers' War series!

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kate Avery Ellison's A Gift of Poison

Paperback Editions

October 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: A Gift of Poison
Author(s): Kate Avery Ellison
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Gift of Poison
Author(s): Kate Avery Ellison
ISBN: 1-5028-7264-1 / 978-1-5028-7264-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Gift of Poison (The Kingmakers' War Book 1)
Author(s): Kate Avery Ellison
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU