book cover of A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle
Added by 2 of our members

A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
The Cosy Kettle cafe is the perfect place to escape this summer, for fans of Cathy Bramley, Jenny Colgan and Debbie Johnson. Guests can tuck in to fruit puddings and strawberry-studded ice cream, but for Flora, the warm summer breeze is blowing in big changes...

When Flora finds out about her husband's secret fling, she escapes to the one place she feels safe: her beloved cafe, The Cosy Kettle, in the charming village of Honeyford. Serving up cream teas to her cafe regulars is the perfect way to soothe her broken heart, and although she's never lived in the area, the little community welcome her with open arms.

She's soon lodging with local eccentric Luna in her remote and beautiful Starlight Cottage, snuggled between rolling green hills. Luna's handsome son Daniel lost his wife several years ago, and as Flora gets to know him, sharing walks through the blossom-scented woods, they both slowly begin to heal... and she realises that behind Daniel's quiet exterior, there's a passionate nature that makes her forget all about her ex-husband.

As she settles into her new life, hosting a baking competition for the village's summer celebration seems like a great idea... but with Daniel's mysterious silences leading Flora to believe he's hiding secrets, she can't help but wonder if she can really trust him. And when the race to bake the perfect Victoria sponge stirs up old rivalries between locals, Flora starts to feel like she's bitten off more than she can chew.

After her new start, will Flora ever truly belong in Honeyford? And, this summer, can she risk opening up her heart again?

Readers are loving A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle:

'Funny, heart-warming and totally addictive, I just couldn't put it down... an absolutely smashing book.' Mrs C's Honest Book Reviews, 5 stars

'I loved this book... brilliant characters... a page turner from the start... warm, charming and laugh out loud funny. A thoroughly enjoyable story.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'A fabulous, feel-good book filled with yummy food, fantastic characters, a cafe that I desperately want I visit and a storyline that will leave you smiling from ear to ear.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'This is a perfect place to escape on a sunny summers day... so many funny parts, I laughed all the way through... a definite page turner and I loved it. I highly recommend this book.' Goodreads reviewer

'A delicious read... perfect lighthearted summer read... Loved it!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The characters in the book are so fabulous... I wished I could jump through the pages and join them all at the Cosy Kettle... will make you smile from ear to ear.' Goodreads reviewer

'A sweet, fun romance... Great setting makes you want to go there.' Goodreads reviewer

'A delightful read... charming... one feel-good book... I would totally recommend.' Goodreads reviewer

'Marvellous... You won't be able to put this book down once you start reading... A fun, heart-warming read.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'The description of the food are mouthwatering... I loved everything and it made me crave for summer, sun and holidays. Highly recommended!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A feel good holiday read... I loved it!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'Delicious... large helpings of laughter... Lovely characters, a well written story and a whole heap of summer loveliness.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Genre: Romance

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Way Back Home
(Willow Tree Hall, book 3)
Alison Sherlock

Kindle Editions

July 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Summer Escape and Strawberry Cake at the Cosy Kettle: A feel good, laugh out loud romantic comedy
Author(s): Liz Eeles
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU