book cover of The Bridgethorpe Brides Books 5-8

The Bridgethorpe Brides Books 5-8

(A book in the Bridgethorpe Brides series)
A collection of stories by

The Bridgethorpe Brides Books 5-8

This collection of four novellas continue the series featuring the offspring of the Earl of Bridgethorpe.

One Last Season

When Hugh "Trey" Lumley and Amelia Young first met, she was less than impressed. He has loved her from afar ever since, even after she married another man.

Now widowed, Amelia is told by her father to find a husbandone wealthy enough to pay for seasons for Amelia's two younger sisters.

It's too late for Trey to be her first love, but he hopes to be her last. His position as a clerk to his barrister uncle means he doesn't stand a chance. He's no longer the meek man willing to stand by and let Amelia fall for someone else. He will find a way to convince Amelia and her father that he's the only man for her.

Captivated by the Wallflower

Adam Lumley, Viscount Knightwick, desperately wants o breed one of his mares to a stallion owned by the Earl of Huntfield. Huntfield sees no reason to improve the stock of his competition and repeatedly turns down whatever sum Knightwick offers.

After giving up hope his wallflower daughter will ever find a husband, Lord Huntfield settles on a deal: if Knightwick can turn Lady Susan into a diamond of the Season, Knightwick can breed his mare as he wishes.

Lady Susan Yarwood truly enjoys London assemblies. Where else can she find so many potential sponsors for the school she wishes to establish for the poor children in Huntfield? With her father threatening this will be her final London Season, she must work quickly to secure the funding she needs. The last thing she needs is the interference of the handsome, flirtatious Lord Knightwick who continually draws her away from the matrons she seeks donations from. She will succeed in founding her school, no matter who stands in her way.

Chasing Lord Mystery (A Danby crossover featuring the elder brother of Lady Joanna in The Incorrigible Mr. Lumley)

Lord Northcotte is not in the holiday spirit when he joins his sister's family shortly after the brutal death of a friend. Discovering a matchmaking scheme is afoot, he tells them he will never marry Lady Miriam or any other woman. Now if only his heart would listen.

Lady Miriam's mother accused her of chasing Lord Mystery after a noble act by a handsome gentleman six years ago became the measure of all other men. Now he's staying at the home where she'd hoped to escape a summons from her grandfather, the Duke of Danby. Terrified Northcotte will recognize her and reveal the contents of the scandalous letter she wrote him years ago, she can't decide which is the bigger threat: the duke armed with a special license, or Lord Mystery, who carries a secret she'd never live down.

Captain Lumley's Angel

Captain Samuel Lumley is proud to follow in his cousin's footsteps and serve king and country in the cavalry. Wounded in the Battle of Waterloo, he is cared for by an angel in the form of his lieutenant's wife. A promise to his dying comrade leaves Sam with the responsibility of seeing to the safety of the lieutenant's widow, Mrs. Ellen Staverton.

Upon their return to England, Ellen finds herself homeless and in need of employment. When Sam's mother offers her a temporary home with the family, Ellen quickly grows too fond of them and Sam in particular. She must find a position before she falls for him, which would dishonor the memory of her dead husband.

Night terrors of the slaughters he survived have left Sam an empty husk of a man. He has little to offer a woman beyond his name and income so he won't think of marriage, but the only joy in his life is the laughter of his angel, Ellen. Can he heal his inner wounds before she is gone from his life completely?

Genre: Historical Romance

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Aileen Fish's The Bridgethorpe Brides Books 5-8

Kindle Editions

November 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Bridgethorpe Brides Books 5-8
Author(s): Aileen Fish
Publisher: Aspendawn Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU