New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Shipbuilder\'s Daughter

The Shipbuilder's Daughter

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
'An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams' People's Friend

Set in 1920s Scotland, this beautifully written and satisfying saga follows the fate of a shipyard owner's daughter as she is faced with an impossible decision . . . Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Rita Bradshaw and Nadine Dorries.

5-star reader reviews for The Shipbuilder's Daughter
'Beautifully written with a great deal of empathy, very satisfying plot. Lovely mix of old Glasgow and the western Isles'

'A definite must-buy'

'A lovely read'

'Fabulous reading'

Glasgow, 1928. Margaret Bannatyne lost both of her brothers in the Great War and is now the last remaining child of wealthy and powerful shipyard owner William Bannatyne. Without a male heir to carry on the family business, William expects his daughter to do her duty, marry well and provide him with a grandson to inherit his business.

Margaret cares deeply for her father but she has ambitions of her own: after witnessing a horrific accident when she was sixteen, she's determined to become a doctor. Her father, convinced she will never practise medicine, permits Margaret to complete her training. But he doesn't count on her falling in love with Alasdair Morrison.

Alasdair, a union man at the shipyard, has been a thorn in William's side for years, and he didn't become one of the richest men in Glasgow only for Alasdair to take it all away - even if it means destroying his only daughter's happiness by forcing her to make a heartbreaking and impossible choice . . .

Genre: Sagas    

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Emma Fraser's The Shipbuilder's Daughter

Hardback Editions

January 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Shipbuilder's Daughter: A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel
Author(s): Emma Fraser
ISBN: 0-7515-6610-1 / 978-0-7515-6610-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shipbuilder's Daughter: A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel
Author(s): Emma Fraser
ISBN: 0-7515-6608-X / 978-0-7515-6608-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shipbuilder's Daughter
Author(s): Emma Fraser
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shipbuilder's Daughter
Author(s): Emma Fraser
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shipbuilder's Daughter : A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel
Author(s): Emma Fraser
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shipbuilder's Daughter: A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel
Author(s): Emma Fraser
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA