Fadia Faqir's picture

Fadia Faqir

Jordan (b.1956)

Fadia Faqir is a Jordanian/British writer based in Durham, England. Her first novel, Nisanit, was published by Penguin in 1990 and is currently being translated into Arabic. Her second novel, Pillars of Salt, was published by Quartet Books in 1996 and was translated into German, Dutch and Danish. The Danish translation was the runner up for the ALOA literary award 2001. She is the editor and co-translator of In the House of Silence: Autobiographical Essays by Arab Women Writers (Garnet Publishing, 1998) which was translated into Turkish.
   Nisanit (1987)
   Pillars of Salt (1996)
   My Name Is Salma (2007)
     aka The Cry of the Dove
   Willow Trees don't Weep (2014)
Non fiction