New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Whole Town's Talking

(2016)
(The fourth book in the Elmwood Springs series)
A novel by

 
The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

New York Times Bestseller . Southern Book Prize Winner

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it's called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town's Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder's Our Town and Flagg's own Can't Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. "Resting place" turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town's Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

Praise for The Whole Town's Talking

"A witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg's down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times." - People

"Fannie Flagg at her best." - The Florida Times-Union

"If there's one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it's tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town's Talking. . . . Brilliant . . . equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe." - The Newport Plain Talk

"Delightful." - The Washington Post

"A ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself." - Richmond Times-Dispatch

Genre: General Fiction
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Looking for Salvation At the Dairy Queen
Susan Gregg Gilmore

Saving Ceecee Honeycutt
Beth Hoffman

Before We Were Yours
Lisa Wingate
thumb
Shoot the Moon
Billie Letts
 
Used availability for Fannie Flagg's The Whole Town's Talking


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

November 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
ISBN: 1-4000-6595-X / 978-1-4000-6595-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

November 2017 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
ISBN: 0-8129-7718-1 / 978-0-8129-7718-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel (Random House Large Print)
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
ISBN: 0-7393-2737-2 / 978-0-7393-2737-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
ISBN: 0-399-58956-2 / 978-0-399-58956-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Lcc Us
Availability: Amazon UK   

Audio Editions

November 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
ISBN: 0-7393-5403-5 / 978-0-7393-5403-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

November 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Whole Town's Talking: A Novel
Author(s): Fannie Flagg
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Search for