book cover of The Mother I Could Have Been
Added by 13 of our members

The Mother I Could Have Been

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Why would you walk away from the one person you can't live without?

As a child, Vicky Hall never had the sort of family she wanted. The least important person in her new step-family, ignored by her mother in favour of her two younger half-siblings, Vicky was always an afterthought. Sitting alone at her graduation ceremony at the age of twenty-one, she vows to create her own family and her own life, one which is full of the love and attention she has always craved.

When Vicky meets William and falls pregnant in Greece that summer, it isn't planned. But the two of them believe they can make it work, showering their child with the love which they believe should be enough.

But when her son Theo is two, Vicky leaves him in the care of her mother-in-law, walks out of her front door and drives to a hotel where she takes a room for the night. She doesn't return.

It's unthinkable.

What kind of mother does that?

The kind who is hiding a story you can never imagine.

The Mother I Could Have Been is a heartbreaking story of impossible decisions and second chances, from the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

Readers are loving The Mother I Could Have Been!'WOW!... An amazing read!!!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I wish I could have read this book in one sitting... I literally couldn't put it down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Kerry Fisher goes from strength to strength, with The Mother I Could Have Been being her best book yet.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'This is a book that once I picked up, it totally consumed me. I ended up reading it in one evening as I was so absorbed by what was in front of me and I had to see how everything was going to end... An absolute must read.' By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

'I have loved every book I've read by this author and this is no exception. I loved it. I didn't want it to end. Excellent read.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'An incredible read. So well written and heartfelt.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'I don't even know how to start this review as I know my words will never do it justice. Each time I pick one of Kerry's books up, I wonder how it is going to top her previous book as each and every one I've read has absolutely blown me away and warmed me to the core.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Another great Kerry Fisher read... this book makes you want to hug your loved ones and tell them you love them as you never know what's around the corner!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Awesome story... grab your hankies! Read in one day.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'LOVED this book so much... Beautifully written and such a great read. Highly recommend.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'5 stars! I absolutely love Kerry Fisher's writing... Highly recommend The Mother I Could Have Been.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A cracking good read... Loved it.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Oh my goodness what a story! ... I absolutely was drawn into it from the very beginning.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved it!!! When I got to the end, I shouted NOOOOOOO!!! (In my head, not out loud.) I couldn't believe it was over.' NetGalley reviewer

'Gripping, heartbreaking, emotional page turner! Wow! ... I couldn't stop reading this book! I was hooked! This book has drama written all over it!' Goodreads reviewer

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kerry Fisher's The Mother I Could Have Been

Paperback Editions

November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been: A gripping and heartbreaking page turner
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
ISBN: 1-83888-028-3 / 978-1-83888-028-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
ISBN: 0-655-67054-8 / 978-0-655-67054-4
Publisher: Bolinda/Audible audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
ISBN: 0-655-67055-6 / 978-0-655-67055-1
Publisher: Bolinda/Audible audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
ISBN: 1-71350-215-1 / 978-1-71350-215-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


November 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Mother I Could Have Been: A gripping and heartbreaking page turner
Author(s): Kerry Fisher
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU