New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of Smoke River

Smoke River

(2014)
A novel by

 
Now in trade paperback, one of the finest debuts of the year: a riveting story of two families on different sides of a crisis with deep roots in history and territory, for readers of Lori Lansens, Joseph Boyden, and John Bemrose's The Island Walkers.
This compelling contemporary story is told in the voices of several vivid, unforgettable characters, including the restless young Mohawk woman dreaming of adventure and fame in the wider world; the successful businessman with a secret, balanced between two communities; and the unexpected lovers, who must weigh happiness against history and fierce pride.
After a proposed subdivision becomes the site of a Mohawk protest, tensions many had thought long buried resurface and begin to escalate. When a violent crime is discovered, everyone must make a pivotal choice, about what to remember and what to forget, what to let go and what to hold tight.
Smoke River is wise and tender, fearless and often very funny. It heralds the arrival of a vibrant, original, and intrepid new voice in Canadian literature.

    Get it on Google Play

"Magnificently vivid....A dazzling debut." - Lisa Moore



Hardback Editions

May 2014 : Canada Hardback
thumb

Title: Smoke River
Author(s): Krista Foss
ISBN: 0-7710-3609-4 / 978-0-7710-3609-5 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2015 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Smoke River
Author(s): Krista Foss
ISBN: 0-7710-3614-0 / 978-0-7710-3614-9 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Emblem Editions
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2014 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Smoke River
Author(s): Krista Foss
Publisher: Emblem Editions
Availability: Amazon CA   



Search for