New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Gallery

The Gallery

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring '20s!

It's 1929, and 12-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household - specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there's more to the story - and that the paintings in the Sewells' gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what's really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author's note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that listeners today will love.

    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Dance in the Dark
(Scarlet and Ivy, book 3)
Sophie Cleverly
thumb
The Crown's Game
(Crown's Game, book 1)
Evelyn Skye

Used availability for Laura Marx Fitzgerald's The Gallery

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Gallery (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
ISBN: 0-606-40088-5 / 978-0-606-40088-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gallery
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
ISBN: 0-525-42865-8 / 978-0-525-42865-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Gallery, The
Author(s): Marx, Laura Fitzgerald
ISBN: 0-14-242770-5 / 978-0-14-242770-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Gallery
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
ISBN: 0-451-48545-9 / 978-0-451-48545-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gallery
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


June 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gallery
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gallery
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gallery
Author(s): Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA