New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Have No Shame

(2013)
A novel by

 
"***NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER - HAVE NO SHAME***
Amazon's HOT NEW RELEASE in HISTORICAL FICTION & COMING OF AGE from BESTSELLING, AWARD-WINNING author MELISSA FOSTER
GOLD MEDAL, Southern Fiction, READERS' FAVORITE AWARD FINALIST, Historical Fiction, READERS' FAVORITE AWARD

* Book Club Recommendation * Contact author Melissa Foster to Skype with your book club.

Where civil rights and forbidden love collide...

The racially-charged prejudice of the deep South forces eighteen-year-old Alison Tillman to confront societal norms--and her own beliefs--when she discovers the body of a hate crime victim, and the specter of forbidden love turns her safe, comfortable world upside down. A meaningful combination of romantic suspense and coming of age at its very best.

""This book will resonate with readers who enjoyed Kathryn Stockett's, THE HELP, Julie Kibler's, CALLING ME HOME, John Grisham's, A TIME TO KILL, Sue Monk Kidd's, THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES, and Kathleen Grissom's, THE KITCHEN HOUSE.""

PLEASE NOTE: This book contains TWO versions of this novel. Readers have the option to read with or without the southern dialect in the narrative (two versions, one novel, one purchase). Both versions reflect the exact same story, with the only difference being the style of the narrative.

SUMMARY
Alison Tillman has called Forrest Town, Arkansas home for the past eighteen years. Her mother's Blue Bonnet meetings, her father toiling night and day on the family farm, and the division of life between the whites and the blacks are all Alison knows. The winter of 1967, just a few months before marrying her high school sweetheart, Alison finds the body of a black man floating in the river, and she begins to view her existence with new perspective. The oppression and hate of the south, the ugliness she once was able to avert her eyes from, now demands her attention.

When a secretive friendship with a young black man takes an unexpected romantic turn, Alison is forced to choose between her predetermined future, and the dangerous path that her heart yearns for."

 
Used availability for Melissa Foster's Have No Shame


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

April 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: Have No Shame
Author(s): Melissa Foster
ISBN: 0-9890508-4-X / 978-0-9890508-4-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: EverAfter Romance
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

April 2013 : USA Paperback
Title: Have No Shame
Author(s): Melissa Foster
ISBN: 1-4841-9893-X / 978-1-4841-9893-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Have No Shame (When civil rights and forbidden love collide)
Author(s): Melissa Foster
Publisher: World Literary Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for