New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of Playlist for the Dead

Playlist for the Dead

(2015)
A novel by

 
"A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire." - Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff's debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you - and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam - listen and you'll understand.

To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he'll finally be able to piece together his best friend's story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

"An absorbing and sensitive read." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam's engaging investigation." - ALA Booklist

"Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers." - School Library Journal


"Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care." - Publishers Weekly

"Truly powerful moments." - Kirkus Reviews


    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...



Hardback Editions

January 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
ISBN: 0-06-231050-X / 978-0-06-231050-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
ISBN: 0-06-231051-8 / 978-0-06-231051-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
ISBN: 0-00-814085-5 / 978-0-00-814085-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
ISBN: 0-00-811066-2 / 978-0-00-811066-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


January 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Playlist for the Dead
Author(s): Michelle Falkoff
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   



Search for