New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Camp Sunshine

Camp Sunshine

(A book in the Sunshine series)
A novel by

For her ninth novel, Ruth Francisco brings us a WWII saga, based on the true story of Camp Gordon Johnston, an amphibious training camp on Florida's desolate Gulf coast. It is a tale of young men on the brink of war and a country on the brink of civil rights, a tale of soldiers and officers, daughters and mothers, death and redemption, and a man unyielding in his integrity, compassion, and struggle for justice.

Here, in this harsh but mystically beautiful land, twenty thousand young recruits test themselves to the limit in love and combat; politicos and tycoons offer aid with one eye to profit; women patrol the coast on horseback, looking for German subs; a postmaster's daughter, the only child on base, inspires thousands with her radio broadcasts; and a determined woman bravely holds together her family and the emotional soul of the camp.

But when Commanding Officer Major Occam Goodwin discovers a murdered black family deep in the forest, he must dance delicately around military politics, and a race war that threatens the entire war effort. Amid tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the soldiers and their country hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to find his destiny.


Similar books by other authors

Murder By Misrule
(Francis Bacon, book 1)
Anna Castle
Through Waters Deep
(Waves of Freedom, book 1)
Sarah Sundin
The Smuggler's Gambit
(Adam Fletcher Adventure, book 1)
Sara Whitford
The Irish Inheritance
(Jayne Sinclair Genealogical Mystery, book 1)
M J Lee

Used availability for Ruth Francisco's Camp Sunshine

Paperback Editions

March 2017 : Paperback

Title: Camp Sunshine (Sunshine Series)
Author(s): Ruth Francisco
ISBN: 1-5209-0268-9 / 978-1-5209-0268-5
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

April 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Camp Sunshine (Sunshine Series Book 1)
Author(s): Ruth Francisco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA