book cover of The Portable Faulkner

The Portable Faulkner

A collection of stories by


This is a collection of stories and episodes from novels forming a history of life in William Faulkner's metaphorical kingdom, Yoknapatawpha County, Mississippi. It includes three longer stories: "The Bear", "Spotted Horses" and "Old Man", and Malcolm Cowley's acclaimed 1946 introduction. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Similar books by other authors

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
(Autobiographies of Maya Angelou, book 1)
Maya Angelou

Used availability for William Faulkner's The Portable Faulkner

Hardback Editions

February 1985 : USA Hardback

Title: The Portable Faulkner (The Viking Portable Library)
Author(s): William Faulkner
ISBN: 0-517-47860-9 / 978-0-517-47860-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Value Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

1976 : USA Hardback

Title: The portable Faulkner
Author(s): William Faulkner
ISBN: 0-670-01018-9 / 978-0-670-01018-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking Press
Availability: Amazon UK   

April 1967 : USA Hardback

Title: The Portable Faulkner, Revised and Expanded Edition
Author(s): Malcolm Cowley
ISBN: 0-670-31002-6 / 978-0-670-31002-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking Adult
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

February 2003 : UK Paperback

Title: The Portable Faulkner (Penguin Classics)
Author(s): Malcolm Cowley
ISBN: 0-14-243728-X / 978-0-14-243728-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 1977 : UK Paperback

Title: The Portable Faulkner (Viking portable library)
Author(s): William Faulkner
ISBN: 0-14-015018-8 / 978-0-14-015018-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA