book cover of The Vatican Princess
Added by 3 of our members

The Vatican Princess

(2016)
A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, best-selling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world's most notorious families.

Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized 15th-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty's ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival?

With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father's elevation are the new pope's illegitimate children - his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter, Lucrezia - each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family's fortunes.

But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment's notice as Italy's ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia's father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood.

Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia's coming of age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Anna of Kleve
(Six Tudor Queens, book 4)
Alison Weir

Used availability for C W Gortner's The Vatican Princess

Hardback Editions

May 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia (Thorndike Core)
Author(s): C W Gortner
ISBN: 1-4104-8955-8 / 978-1-4104-8955-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author(s): C W Gortner
ISBN: 0-345-53397-6 / 978-0-345-53397-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess
Author(s): C W Gortner
ISBN: 1-4447-5510-2 / 978-1-4447-5510-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author(s): C W Gortner
ISBN: 0-345-53399-2 / 978-0-345-53399-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess
Author(s): C W Gortner
ISBN: 1-4447-5508-0 / 978-1-4447-5508-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2016 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author(s): C W Gortner
ISBN: 0-14-752647-7 / 978-0-14-752647-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author(s): C W Gortner
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author(s): C W Gortner
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess
Author(s): C W Gortner
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
Author(s): C W Gortner
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA