book cover of Letter From the Dead
Added by 49 of our members
 

Letter From the Dead

(2020)
(The first book in the Detective Inspector Declan Walsh series)
A novel by

 
 
"By the time you read this, I will be dead..."

When Victoria Davies was pushed off her stately home's roof in 2001, all evidence pointed to her husband Michael. But twenty years later a letter has appeared, written by Victoria before her death; a letter that was never received, and a letter that brings new suspects into the fray; Labour MPs Shaun Donnal, Andrew MacIntyre and Charles Baker.

But two decades on, life has changed for these men. Donnal is now a paranoid alcoholic living on the streets of London, 'Andy Mac' is a popular YouTube Evangelist and Charles Baker is the current Conservative Home Secretary, and the bookie's choice for next Prime Minister in the upcoming Leadership Election.

Now Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, saved from permanent suspension and newly transferred to the Temple Inn 'Last Chance Saloon' Crime Unit, must navigate a minefield filled with political intrigue, adulterous affairs, social activist aristocrats and brutal, bloody murder, as each suspect leads his new team to another problem, and skeleton to fall out of the closet...

The debut book in a new series of procedural crime thrillers featuring DI Walsh and the team of the Last Chance Saloon, Letter from the Dead is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, J M Dalgliesh,Ian Rankin, Damian Boyd, Alex Smith and Ann Cleeves, among others.

-------

What people are saying about Jack Gatland:

"⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ This is one of those books that will keep you up past your bedtime, as each chapter lures you into reading just one more."

"
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Fantastic book, if you’re a fan of crime and police procedurals, oh boy, you’ll love this one."

"
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ I have read all the books in the series so far and enjoyed them all... I couldn't go to bed till I had finished it."

"
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Outstanding. Full of twists and turns, false leads and an ending so brilliant I was gasping out loud. Amazing."

"⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ This book is better than anything on the telly. Very entertaining."



Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jack Gatland's Letter From the Dead

Paperback Editions

November 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Letter From The Dead: (Detective Inspector Declan Walsh Book 1)
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Letter from the Dead: Detective Inspector Declan Walsh Series, Book 1
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Letter from the Dead: Detective Inspector Declan Walsh Series, Book 1
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Letter from the Dead: Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, Book 1
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: QUEST from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


October 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Letter from the Dead: Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, Book 1
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: QUEST from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Letter from the Dead: Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, Book 1
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: QUEST from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Letter From The Dead: A British Murder Mystery (DI Declan Walsh Crime Thrillers Book 1) (Detective Inspector Declan Walsh)
Author(s): Jack Gatland
Publisher: Hooded Man Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU